any logic users in tha house?

Hmmm... you've got a few choices:

Cubase / Nuendo.

Logic

Digital Performer.

Audition and Sonar are out, because they're both PC only... unless you want to run Boot Camp and Windows XP.

Tell me a little more about what you want / need to be able to do with it, and the styles of music you're doing, and I might have a recommendation for you.

PS Pardon the pun, but what is your logic (or if you prefer the punless version, your reason) for wanting to aviod Pro Tools?

• Members

logic is great... i'm a digital performer user but am sometimes envious of some of the features in logic. the motu 828 is a very cool interface but if all you need is one or two ins, i'd probably just go with an mbox and the protools that comes with. It's about the most cost effective overall and almost the same amount of features. For me it's all about how much i know an application... and i've been using dp since 2000 so i don't really have the patience to switch to anything else.

• Members

phil, i am planning on getting a firepod as an interface, so i can do multiple tracks in at a time...

basically, ill probably be doing my mixing and editing in the DAW, and tracking all instruments, so sequencing isn't nearly as important.

on my PC i used cool edit pro, just so you have a frame of reference as to my understanding of software...

basically, i want something easy to use and that will be compatible with different kinds of interfaces and mixers, in case i change up my setup later (the compatability ssues is why i wanna stay away from por tools, and the learning curve is intimidating)

Well, since Cool Edit Pro / Adobe Audition isn't available on the Mac (again, unless you want to dual boot via Boot Camp - which, since there's apparently no significant performance "hit" when running Windows XP and Windows software applications, might be a viable option for you), you're going to have to learn a new software application.