any journalism majors here?

wacopacco

• Members
:wave:

I have a Journalism degree. I don't think it would help you write fiction, though. Two totally different disciplines.

You might want to look into Creative Writing programs, or an English degree. Both would certainly help you develop strong writing skills.

• Members

I do Media at Uni, just starting my second year and i'm considering doing journalism. Within my degree there are a whole lot of creative writing classes though which would be of great help. I imagine they offer some form of Media degree in the States. Ours allows you to choose anything from film and radio to journalism and public relations

• Members
:wave:

I have a Journalism degree. I don't think it would help you write fiction, though. Two totally different disciplines.

You might want to look into Creative Writing programs, or an English degree. Both would certainly help you develop strong writing skills.

i'm not just interested in fiction. I'd love to get a job someday for a magazine or whatever. Just basically thinking right now, i've done no research...

• Members

Some Journalism degrees start off with a couple of years of foundation, and then allow you to focus on a discipline, such as magazine writing.
That's the kind of degree I would have taken if I had known better. My degree focused on news writing for newspapers.

• Members

I'm a creative writer but it's a terrible career so I mostly just do it for my own amusement and coming up with ideas for sitcoms.

My current idea is a relatively smart black guy falls asleep and when he wakes up, white people and black people have changed roles in society. All of a sudden history has flipped around and it's wrong to say the word cracker and honky in a racial context and it's perfectly fine to nigger. Also there are way more black people in America than there are white people and they mostly live in the heartland.