Just how awesome is Piper At The Gates of Dawn

Loobster

• Members

Personally I prefer Syd's Floyd ... shame it all fell apart when he was coming out with Vegetable Man and Scream thy last Scream et al ... those were some very cool tunes that sadly didn't get a proper recording. You could tell it was getting deeply avant garde though when you heard the single Apples and Oranges though ... and not in the normal artistic way - this was getting autistic.

"Thought cha might like to know! I'm a lorry driver man ... she's on the run"

There were none like him and never will be any to replace.

• Members

That's true. Gilmour brought instrumental virtuosity to the band though, and I suppose they were looking for someone more reliable and 'capable' (in a sense). I wouldn't say I preferred Syd's Floyd, because they're more or less two different bands for me. But I am a sucker for beautiful phrasing and guitar playing and Gilmour had that in spades...he was also an innovator, albeit in a far less abstract way.

• Members

I read somewhere that when Gilmour joined, at first they were going to work as a 5-piece but then Syd flipped out and they fired him. You can tell on A Saucerful of Secrets that there was still a very strong Syd influence, like on Corporal Clegg and the title track.

• Members

I read somewhere that when Gilmour joined, at first they were going to work as a 5-piece but then Syd flipped out and they fired him.

That's the story. Gilmour was invited to join Pink Floyd initially to stand in for Syd when he was "incapacitated", or otherwise unavailable- he'd become pretty erratic, hence the Floyd's decision to have an "understudy". Syd didn't take too kindly to having his stand-in in the band with him, and got even worse, which led to the fateful decision by the band not to pick him up for that gig, and to take Gilmour on full time.