why do you play/write music?

damacy

• Members

this may be a very philosophical question. but i'd like to know of your thoughts on this. it's been bugging me lately. it's somewhat absurd that if you're forced to describe music in words because what you express in music is mostly/sometimes wordless.

it does not really matter if you're a professional musician or an amateur. an easy answer could be 'just because it's fun' which is totally fine.

so here's my question again. why do you play/write music?

thanks a lot for your thoughts in advance.

• Members

I think because I can't imagine life without doing it.

I go through a lot of personal turmoil about coming to terms with the music I make; how much time I devote to something that is, if you listen to everyone else, guaranteed no success.

I graduated college this past spring, and up until a month had been couch surfing, not writing any new music at all. By the time I got my own apartment, I've been brimming with ideas I can't contain. I wake up from dreams wherein I am writing transcendant incredible music.

In sum, I guess I do it because, well, I can't stop.

• Members

Because I'm crazy. :freak: I literally get music stuck in my head from nowhere and I can't get it unstuck until I transpose it from Crazy-o-sound to guitar. Happened again yesterday up at university when I was in literature lecture. Just popped in there, and next thing I knew I was humming it and drumming out the rhythm on my legs. I missed a lot because it was so pervasive in my mind. All my best songs come to me this way. This new one is a manic 7/8 groove in a sombrero sipping jazz cola. Can't wait to jam it out with the guys, see what else comes of it.