Sign in to follow this  
PRSnotPOS

Black Metal Keyboard HELP!!!

Hey guys!! I'm kind of new to the keyboard world so please be patient. My gear is an Axiom 49 and Reason 3.0 software. I have played around with all the different sounds and instruments on Reason and a lot of them have an annoying delay (like the sound will start out low and then get louder). Also a lot of the vocal choirs sound cheesy. I was wondering if you guys could recommend some software that can sound like the keyboards on an Emperor or Cradle of Filth cd (yes I know they aren't true black metal). Even the keyboards on Jason Becker's Altitudes sounds nice. I just don't think Reason is the program I'm looking for. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

i am not in Black metal but i have listened to cof once...well normally they must be using hardware keys for that...try something that it can make pads and intro fx...,maybe korg stuff will suite you more since they have nixe choir/pads

good luck

The 'annoying delay' you speak of is probably 'attack time' and should be able to be adjusted.

I play keyboards in metal (not black metal though). You would probably be fairly sorted with some type of pro/workstation keyboard. Also ideal if you are going to be gigging. If you get a korg triton, yamaha motif, roland fantom or similar you would probably be able to do all your sounds in a live situation from one of them.

A Kurzweil would also be good, especailly for real instrument sounds.

If you want to continue with software, You could get quite a lot of nice sounds from Kontakt player + good sample library and Native Instrumetns Absynth has enough variation in sound that anyone could find something in there for themselves. Absynth has some quite good choir type pads but they aren't really realistic voices. The realistic choir sound I use is from kontakt player.

http://www.native-instruments.com