keyboard/synth for Pink Floyd sounds?

barneyc4

• Members

Hi guys,

I'm a guitarist in search of a keyboard/synth for some Pink Floyd covers that im about to record. I'm looking for something under $1000.

What keyboard/synth would you recommend me?

Think of "Shine on you crazy diamond" and "Comfortably Numb"

• Members

Hello. When I was with a band we did, "In The Flesh", Run Like Hell, Comfortably Numb.

What I used:

In The Flesh: Yamaha S08

Run Like Hell: Yamaha S08, Alesis Ion

Comfortably Numb: Yamaha S08, Yamaha SY55

You would need something that can do Hammond B3 Organ, Solina Strings, Strings, Analog Synth...

IMO: Alesis Fusion or most any recent sample playback synth

Edit: I forgot that you could also use vsti synth plugins. There are some free cool String synthesizer vsti's. Actually, there are many free vsti's that could do the job.

Cheese Machine

I just found this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rick_Wright

• Members

I don't think i'll be going to VST route right now since I might use the keyboard/synth for live use in the future.

So the Alesis Fusion is the one?

dabowsa, I plan on buying one next month since I also need to finance a PRS.

• Members

Hello. When I was with a band we did, "In The Flesh", Run Like Hell, Comfortably Numb.

What I used:

In The Flesh: Yamaha S08

Run Like Hell: Yamaha S08, Alesis Ion

Comfortably Numb: Yamaha S08, Yamaha SY55

You would need something that can do Hammond B3 Organ, Solina Strings, Strings, Analog Synth...

IMO: Alesis Fusion or most any recent sample playback synth

Edit: I forgot that you could also use vsti synth plugins. There are some free cool String synthesizer vsti's. Actually, there are many free vsti's that could do the job.

I just found this:

I'm thinking that I can go up to $1500 with the budget. Would you still recommed the Alesis fusion? Something simple and easy to get used to...

• Members

Sorry- Pink Floyd was disbanded before Kurzweil was making synths.