Recommend a fuzz pedal please

terrafirma

• Members

During my short time in the forum, I've already noticed that many of you enjoy fuzz pedals, and in some cases, obsess over them. I do not own one currently, but have been perusing the net in search of one. I found I like the frantone peach fuzz, catalinbread v8 and the barber trifecta. I'm new to fuzz...is there any similarities between these as far as circuitry goes or are they very different flavors? I've heard a lot of fuzzes on youtube and for some reason, these catch my ear.

Any other great fuzzes y'all would recommend under 200 smackers? Oh btw, I hate the fuzz factory. It's poo. I'm asking for it now, aren't I? (The mammoth is cool tho, just way too expensive.)

• Members

Big Muff, USA (very scooped, woofy type of Fuzz. This is usually the gateway box that leads to all other Fuzz flavors) -->$75

Fulltone '70 (very versitle and articulate kind of Silicon Fuzz Face) --> $160

Analogman NKT275 SunFace (the best Germanium Fuzz Face clone out there IMO. Its a little warmer and not as sustaining as a Silicon Fuzz) --> $200

Wattson SuperFuzz (great clone of an Octave-up Fuzz but can sound like Doom) --> $160

ToneBender clone of somekind but I can't really think of one of the top of my head right now. Monsterpiece maybe?

Fender Blender (crazy end-of-the-world, my amps gonna blow Germanium Fuzz with an Octave-up flavor & boost option) --> $200

Maestro/AshBass/Mosrite ('60s, Ina-Gadda-Da-Vida/Spirit in the Sky/Spaghetti Western Fuzz)

• Members

thanks...those are some recommendations I didn't think about. I'll have to continue browsing.

Where can I look up more info on monsterpiece fuzzes...there's no Web site?

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1778565&highlight=MONSTERPIECE

Also there is a demo of the Angry Dick 2000 on my youtube account.

Or just shoot the builder a PM (duderanimous). Hes a very nice guy.

• Members