Emergency: Are BD and TS9 basically same thing?

Deeprig9

• Members

I have to give my Blues Driver back to it's rightful owner but have a show to play Wed. so I need to buy another driver asap, no time to shop around and compare this and that. I would just buy another Blues Driver but as long as I'm buying another pedal, wouldn't mind "upgrading". It's going into a solid state clean amp. Would a TS9 just boost the signal with minimal distortion or would it act like the blues driver and get me plenty?

Thanks...

• Members

I'm pretty sure they're slightly different, but I don't know how different. I got a TS9 years ago and it sounded so lame w/ my SS amp, I put it away and forgot about it. I found it years later when I got a tube amp and now I love it. YMMV

• Members
Don't get a tubescreamer if you have a SS amp.

+1 I have limited experience with this but the experience I do have is not positive. TS + SS = :cry: ... seems like it would work but for some reason it doesn't to my ears. If you like the sound of the BD-2 with your amp I would stick with it and save some cash.

• Members
+1 I have limited experience with this but the experience I do have is not positive. TS + SS =
:cry:
... seems like it would work but for some reason it doesn't to my ears. If you like the sound of the BD-2 with your amp I would stick with it and save some cash.

+1
stick with what you know you like,

• Members
That's exactly what I did when I got an original TS9 from a local pawnshop. I plugged it thru a small SS amp. I told the guy the pedal doesn't work. So he sold it to me for $20!
;)

That's a good trick.... I'm gonna use that.

• Members

Regardless of what amp you're using, the TS-9 and BD-2 are quite different animals. The Blues Driver is flatter (with less mids and more highs) and has a wider gain range (it can go cleaner as well as more distorted). The TS-9 has a big hump in the midrange, with reduced treble and a narrower gain range.