NGD: Jazzmaster

Faldoe

• Members

First off, congrats! Very clean looking and has that delightful CIJ poly gloss all over the place.

I believe mine looked like that once. Brown tort is so much more tasteful, but we decided to go for the gold instead, and would advise the same if you're not "down with the brown".

VIVA my student Jake, rocking out bedroom style:

Photo070908_4.jpg

• Members

why, it's just a pick guard....

I don't think it's a "Genuine Fender" Pickguard. The Fender ones are much darker. I got my '95-96 MIJ Jazzmaster the other day. Shipped all the way from Japan and purchased off e-bay. I have to spend about $100 to restore it (new pickguard, bridge, and screws), but I still love it anyway.

Funny coincidence though... my MIJ Jazzmaster has the exact same pickguard as yours. I would keep it just in case it's the "original" Japanese version of the pickguard and is different from the American one.

• Members

I don't think it's a "Genuine Fender" Pickguard. The Fender ones are much darker. I got my '95-96 MIJ Jazzmaster the other day. Shipped all the way from Japan and purchased off e-bay. I have to spend about $100 to restore it (new pickguard, bridge, and screws), but I still love it anyway.

Funny coincidence though... my MIJ Jazzmaster has the exact same pickguard as yours. I would keep it just in case it's the "original" Japanese version of the pickguard and is different from the American one.

Just the color of MIJ tortoise from this timeframe.

• Members

Just the color of MIJ tortoise from this timeframe.

Thanks Mr. C, that's good info to know. I think the Darker ones def look better... but in terms of "restoring" a guitar to it's original state I'll definitely keep the original. What sucks is my pickguard is cracked... So I would need to find an "original" pickguard for this era Jazzmaster... if I really wanted to restore it.

• Members