Sign in to follow this  
Soulcrusher_X

Boss TU2, Korg Pitchblack, Buffers, Loop, WTF??

Hey, I'm new to FX pedals, but I want to try out some to add some flavor to my tone. I'm thinking start simple, like a Wah, OD or boost, maybe a fuzz pedal and then at some point a delay, chorus or something else.

First, I need a good tuner, but I'm confused about which to buy. I see the Boss TU2 more than any other on stage, but I hear good things about the Korg Pitchblack. Then, I hear things about the Boss being good since it uses an internal buffer.

I'm kinda confused as to what the buffer is and if I would really need a pedal with one in my setup. I don't intend to have a million pedals out front, and the loop on my JSX has adjustable levels. Would I need a buffered pedal to prevent tone loss, or would the 3 or 4 pedals out front be fine without one?

Last, how do most of you guys link your FX in the chain? What do you put out front, what do you put in the loop, and what order works best for you? So far, I have a Dunlop wah to try out, I'm thinking of picking up a Bad Monkey for my OD/Boost and I need a pedal tuner.

Thanks in advance.

i love my pitchblack. it has so many options, and i can see it perfectly on a dark stage. and while it is suppose to be good to have a buffer first in your chain my singal is no different from when i was using a DT10.

I see the Boss TU2 more than any other on stage, but I hear good things about the Korg Pitchblack. Then, I hear things about the Boss being good since it uses an internal buffer.

I'm kinda confused as to what the buffer is and if I would really need a pedal with one in my setup. I don't intend to have a million pedals out front, and the loop on my JSX has adjustable levels. Would I need a buffered pedal to prevent tone loss, or would the 3 or 4 pedals out front be fine without one?

the're both good pedals, most of us round here use one of the other or a korg dt-10.