Please help me decide: Clean boost vs. EQ pedal?

hallenj

• Members

Hi,

I'm new to the forum. In fact, I'm just getting into overhauling my guitar pedal setup, which is why I've joined the forum.

For my live set, at times I need a clean boost to put my solos up in the mix. Sometimes the guitar tone is very clean, round, and jazz-like, so I want to be sure the manner of boosting allows the signal to stay totally clean.

What's better for this: a booster or an EQ pedal? For example, two pedals I'm considering for this purpose are the MXR MC-401 Boost/Line Driver and the MXR M-108 Graphic EQ. I'm not tied to MXR pedals or anything, but those are general examples of what I'm thinking of.

I've also heard great things about the Xotic boosters.

What would you all suggest?

Thanks!

Jason

• Members

Yeah, my initial idea was to use an EQ in the effects loop. But then I got to wondering about the purpose of a booster.

Are there an particular EQ pedals you all would recommend? My current EQ is a Behringer 7-band, and it's pretty noisy and {censored}ty. Like I said, I'm overhauling my rig...

• Members

Yeah, my initial idea was to use an EQ in the effects loop. But then I got to wondering about the purpose of a booster.

Are there an particular EQ pedals you all would recommend? My current EQ is a Behringer 7-band, and it's pretty noisy and {censored}ty. Like I said, I'm overhauling my rig...

I've used a booster, but it adds some grit (at least the way I use it into a just breaking up tube amp). A friend uses a GE-7 in the loop w/ the mids boosted and it really cuts through for his solos.

• Members

For a volume boost, you want it in the loop. If you wanted to hit the front end of the amp a little harder, you would want the booster. It won't make anything louder, just add a bit more gain. Though the EQ could do that as well, like I mentioned before.