OT: McCain picks Palin

angstwulf

• Members

Sarah Palin, that is. Guvnor of Alaska.

Kind of an interesting ballsy move. Young, untested. Former beauty pageant contestant and college basketball player. Evangelical Christian but with fairly moderate views on gays. She should carry a bit of weight in the continental US having led the charge on corruption reform in Alaska and being a big Stevens basher.

I have no direct knowledge of her. My co-worker is Alaskan. I got him on the cell phone for a few seconds and he said she is "{censored}ing crazy". He had to cut the call short. Something about being in the middle of a wedding ceremony. Bastiche.

• Replies 479
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

So if McCain gets elected, and something happens to him in office, the US would be run by a person who has spent approximately two years as governor of Alaska, and prior to that was mayor of a town of about 5,000 people.

Pardon my skepticism. But on the other hand, given the ongoing ineptitude of a long string of experienced political types, maybe she'd have as good a chance as anyone of straightening out this mess that the US has become.

In the long run, though, my immediate reaction is that McCain screwed himself beyond belief with this one. His choice will likely seen as little more than a blatant political maneuver, that probably won't fool many people. While Obama seems to have chosen a running mate whose experience and skillset would likely help him to succeed in his job, I am not seeing that in McCain's choice, at least not after reading a cursory biography of the woman.

What a f**ked up mess.

• Members

So if McCain gets elected, and something happens to him in office, the US would be run by a person who has spent approximately two years as governor of Alaska, and prior to that was mayor of a town of about 5,000 people.