Triggering audio samples live

symeboy

• Members

Hi all,

I posted this here because I was wondering if any other fellow guitarists have ever come across a way of triggering audio samples using some kind of footswitch? I have to warn you, I'm a bit of a noob at this so apologies in advance.

I would love to find an easy reliable (and hopefully not too expensive) way of triggering live synth parts to accompany our music live. I'd say I would have maybe one or two samples per song, not enough to warrant getting a keyboard player! :-)

I saw a metal band do it recently using a Yamaha Keyboard (Yamaha Motif XS7) and a foot controller (an FC-5). The XS7 stored multiple audio samples that you could scroll through and trigger using either the keyboard keys or a footcontroller. The keyboard sent two audios at once, a click to the drummer and a stereo .wav to the desk.

This would be an almost perfect way to do it, but for me using a whole keyboard feels like using a sledgehammer to crack a nut! Plus the xs7 is really expensive.

Is there anything else out there yet that stores multiple audio files, can be easily scrolled through in between songs, can trigger two audio files at once (click for drummer plus music) and can be controlled with a footswitch?

I know its possible to play whole songs to a click track, but I would prefer not to go down that route... I also would prefer not to have to use a laptop as I can imagine someone tipping beer on it or it going walkabout in some of the places we play! I may be asking the impossible, but I'd be surprised if there wasnt a market for such a thing I have described.

Thanks in advance :thu:

• Members

not playing to a click and trying to trigger samples is asking for disaster. you'd have to be perfectly in time with the sample for it to work, & i'll confidently say 99% of drummers can't keep a steady tempo from the beginning of a song to match up to a sample with a preset tempo.