OT: Doctors/ med students. I'm thinking about going to med school.

goaway

• Members

I'm in my fourth year of college. My parents told me to pursue what ever i was interested in, not something that just pays well. so naturally my first choice was recording. yeah...useless degree. wasted a whole bunch of time on that. I've tried secondary education and I'm realizing what I always knew to be true about that, I would hate it but it would make my parents happy....but seriously, I'm dying inside :lol:

Ever since early high school, med school was always what i could see myself doing but the work load scared the crap out of me, and i would feel like a douche cause my parents are paying for it. like they've worked ridiculously hard so i could get an education without going into debt.

so anyway, i tell my parents i was considering it and much to my surprise they were very happy about it...they told me not to worry about the money (apparently they're more well-off than i realized) so basically what i'm asking is for you guys with experience to help me decide if its really what i want to do. i want both positive and negative experiences.

i feel like i rambled a lot. TL;DR, i want to go to med school i think. tell me about it.

• Members

Medicine is a great career, if it's what you want to do... I love it, although things are a bit different here in NZ as far as healthcare provision goes.

Where do your impressions of medicine come from? It may seem a funny question, but I think it helps. What I do now bears very, very little relationship to what I thought medicine involved when I started. And if you find part of it that you love (which I have), then it's the best job in the world. On the other hand, if you don't, it's pretty much the worst.