Presets on the M5 - Capable of more than 24?

IRG

• Members

Just got one last night, mint condition, traded my DMB for it. I'm really liking it so far. I had an M9 before, which was good but I think I expected too much from it. This time, I'm using the m5 more as an enhancement to what I have, instead of trying to make it the core of my sound.

So since you can only use one effect at a time, the presets are fairly important. It only stores 24, and I'm sure I can easily go past that. The majority of effects I'll be using will be delay (6-8), then modulation (5-7), filters (4-5), dirt/eq (4-6) and reverb (2-4).

I'm thinking a simple spreadsheet might help me organize what I have.

But can midi help me organize, and/or store more than 24 presets? I KNOW NOTHING about midi, complete noob. If there's something that works well with the M5, share it. Don't want to spend a lot, but maybe something I save up for.

TL;DR, Got an M5, it's cool, wondering if more presets can be saved using midi.

• Members

midimouse_image.jpg

Hmm, interesting. The one thing it lacks is a display beyond the number. So I wonder, if I type in preset #48, can I type in Analog Delay w/Mod on the M5 display, and it will show up when I choose preset #48 for example. I'll take a closer look at this though, thanks a lot.

• Members

Hmm, interesting. The one thing it lacks is a display beyond the number. So I wonder, if I type in preset #48, can I type in Analog Delay w/Mod on the M5 display, and it will show up when I choose preset #48 for example. I'll take a closer look at this though, thanks a lot.

You'll want a better MIDI controller. With the MIDI mouse you'll be doing a lot of scrolling to get to the presets you want or you'll have to go through the hassle of re-programming the order every time you change your set.

If you can find a used Axess Electronics MIDI controller or a Peak MIDI controller, both are reasonably small and give you a few more switches for accessing presets. :o