Why don't more pedals have the Tone-Lok feature??

LSMFT6

• Members

Ibanez had a good idea, even if the pedal line itself isn't the most highly-regarded among gear snobs. More companies should jump on that, especially since they can avoid getting sued by Ibanez by using a name that, unlike Tone-Lok, isn't stupid.

It seems so obvious. Accidental knob bumps are the worst.

• Members

No boutiquer would be able to offer those features without being prohibitively expensive. Not only would the engineering be costly but manufacturinga complicated custom enclosure liek that is unbelievably expensive to do in moderate-to-small production runs. You'd have to be selling hundreds of thousands of pedals a year for that to be cost effective.

• Members

I'm no expert, but I see no reason why you couldn't mount the knobs to the pot shafts with simple spring-loaded devices and have an enclosure high enough above the PCB that it would protect the knobs when in the down position. :idk:

That's probably how Ibanez did it and people assume it's a lot more complex than it really is.

You know that all pedals would be better with this feature, at least the "set and forget" ones.

• Members

I'm no expert, but I see no reason why you couldn't mount the knobs to the pot shafts with simple spring-loaded devices and have an enclosure high enough above the PCB that it would protect the knobs when in the down position.
:idk:
That's probably how Ibanez did it and people assume it's a lot more complex than it really is.

You know that all pedals would be better with this feature, at least the "set and forget" ones.

You could maybe pull something like that off with one of the deeper hammond enclosures, like a 125B or something like that. For it to be durable you would need a specially made enclosure as you would need to have a recessed area instead of an open hole for each of the knobs so that the knobs only move up and down and not laterally.