Strengthening vocal performances/recordings

pbone

• Members

So my vocal tracks are quite breathy. I'd like to change that. For reference, I have a voice similar to Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear/CANT. What vocal techniques can I use to help place my voice in a stronger area and remove some of the airy-ness of it? I want my vox to be strong and clear, but usually they can get muddled.

halp

• Members

Get closer to the mic, use a pop filter to enforce distance and print with a comp if needed. Try to lower ambient volume and increase mic gain. I am a total newb working with cheap gear but proximity makes a huge difference in the sound of my mics. FWIW..

• Members

Go and get singing lessons. I'm not trying to be a smart arse, but we're talking about the sound of your voice. Sure, mic technique/ placement can have an effect, but if you want your singing voice to be stronger, the only way you're going to do that is if you get some training, or at the very least train yourself.

My voice is quite airy and not that strong, though I can hold a tune and sing with attitude which (I hope) counts for a lot. The best my voice has ever been was a few years ago when I was a singing drummer - that was a real workout for my lungs! So practice. Sing along in the car. Try to get strong chest voice notes and gradually work your way up with them. If you have a breathy singing voice it might be that you're switching to head voice or falsetto to reach notes that you might be able to do in a more full bodied way if you train yourself to.

And the quickest way to do that right without straining yourself or damaging your vocal chords is to get some lessons.

• Members

What
vocal techniques
can I use to help place my voice in a stronger area and remove some of the airy-ness of it?

but yes, i agree lessons are a great idea. even just a few to ensure you're breathing properly and all that.

• Members