Diamond Compressor, problems with loud picking sound?

uyotg

• Members

Hi all,

Here's my first real post. If it's too long to read, just skip down two paragraphs. I've been lurking for a while, reading, absorbing, learning, buying, but have held off from introducing myself because I didn't know how to do so without things getting awkward. So instead, I'm just going to disguise it in the form a question. My name is Gary, by the way.

I used to play guitar a lot when I was younger. Then I graduated, grew up, and started working :rolleyes: that was six years ago. Life's short, I'm back at it now and decided that I should treat myself to some real good effects. I've been searching these forums for what the most popular model of some such effect is, then getting it and trying it out (thank you, Google and your site: query). Today, I bring up the Diamond Compressor.

With zero experience in compressors at all, I have to say I really like what this little box does. My only gripe about it is that it catches up all my picking sounds and makes them loud. Each note has a pop in front of it. Is there a way to get rid of this? Try a different pedal? Improve my picking technique? Some other effect out there? Or is this common to all compressors?

I am getting these others coming in over the course of the next 7 days: Providence Sonic Drive (SDR-5), Providence Chrono Delay (DLY-4), Empress ParaEQ, Red Witch Empress, and a TC PolyTune Mini. Also, the Pigtronix Infinity Looper, whenever that comes out. The Providences and Pigtronix are personal picks, but the others are all thanks to you folks here.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for having me.

One more general question--why a spam thread in this forum instead of putting listings in the classifieds?

• Members