ABY Boxes and stereo setups...

Poltergeist

• Members

Well, i know i've made a similar thread a while ago, and i'll be as short and clear as i can be, but be reminded that i'm a total noob on the subject.

I want to run this setup and a friend of mine offered to make me one for next to nothing, but i'm just making sure that i'm getting what's right for me:

Guitar > pedalboard > Acoustic 230 at 8ohms and a Marshall JMP at 16ohms.

I have no isolated outputs on my power supply and have no plans on getting a different one, because this one has always treated me right.

I'm thinking of sending the signal from my DD-5 into the Acoustic and from the DD-5 into an Boss FRV-1 into a Dano Reel Echo and into the Marshall.

I'm thinking about something like this:

http://www.thomann.de/pt/tonebone_aby.htm

But i've heard about some tone sucking issues while using it. This is something that i cannot afford to have for what i'm doing right now, i'm looking for something that doesn't eat up tone.

I'm thinking something like that with isolated outputs? Would that solve any possible issues with the non-iso outputs on the power supply, etc.?

Thanks!

so would that Radial work well, do you think?

It should, but like I said, I have no first-hand experience with that particular unit.

if i had one of them Ebtech things would i be able to run just that and the stereo out from the DD-5 into the second amp without encountering issues?

That's what they say, but again, I have not personally used one - just plug ONE amp into an Ebtech Hum X and it should kill the ground loop isseue - all you need to do at that point is feed each amp a separate output from a stereo pedal - the DD-5 should be fine.

• Members