piano bar/restaurant players- replaced with down-tempo/chill?

• Members

This caught my interest: http://forums.musicplayer.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/2045208/Downtempo_New_Lounge_Music#Post2045208

The Pro and others- what is this scene like where YOU live?

(The Pro would seem well-positioned to capitalize on this trend). I don't know of this taking root in Jackson, MS yet.

OTOH- I recently saw an internet job ad stating: WANTED: Piano player for high-energy steakhouse. Must have extensive contemporary repertoire including arrangements of Led Zeppelin, Lenny Kravitz, Coldplay etc.

That amused me- but I hope they're on to something.

• Members

Interesting thread.

I am very familiar with downtempo/chill/Ambient music and I had been incorporating that into my performances for many years (which is another reason I enjoy using arrangers with my piano at times). And I used to play at a steakhouse that requested me to do some Coldplay (the mgr loved "Clocks"), Led Zep, etc. instrumentally. The idea was to appeal to diners age 25-35 while keeping the music at conversational volumes and even danceable but not rocking the house. The Sinatra crowd is simply dying away and musos have to adjust to it. I like acid jazz anyway.

However, and in case you didn't know, I recently moved to Atlanta and right now with the poor economy I'm having trouble finding any kind of piano gigs at restaurants, which is what I once specialized in. I've filled in the gaps with weddings, DJ work and I am working with a classic rock band too. Restaurants so far have not been interested in working with me, except for the coffee houses that want me to play for tips only. So my restaurant piano gigs have fallen to the wayside until the economy picks back up or I find the right restaurant once again.