Electric guitar through a keyboard amp

pogo97

• Members

dot.jpg

I asked a related question in the effects forum but I'm wondering if you guys have other useful suggestions.

My dirty little secret: though I'm primarily a pianist, I've played guitar for 35 years and occasionally owned an electric. I just got an Epiphone Dot 335 copy and am doing okay playing it through my x-station or through GarageBand's new amp modelling and into headphones (my Motion Sound 200s is at the jam space) but would prefer to be all analogue. I really don't want to have to buy and haul a dedicated guitar amp and would prefer to avoid unnecessary A/D-D/A nonsense.

Any of you guys play an electric through your keys amp? Any suggestions?

• Members

Don't see why it wouldn't work. You may want to run it through some kind of preamp first to boost the level and adjust the impedance (guitar = high Z/low level, keyboard = low Z/line level). It will give you a cleaner sound, since guitar amps are not exactly high fidelity, by design.

• Members

Keyboard amps are designed to reproduce a full range signal cleanly. Guitar amps are designed to shape and distort the signal considerably and to roll of the high frequencies. Without some kind of preamp in there to replicate a guitar amp, you won't get a very satisfying sound. I use a Traynor K4 for my guitar, but I run it through a Tonelab LE first.

• Members

dot.jpg

I asked a related
question in the effects forum
but I'm wondering if you guys have other useful suggestions.

My dirty little secret: though I'm primarily a pianist, I've played guitar for 35 years and occasionally owned an electric. I just got an Epiphone Dot 335 copy and am doing okay playing it through my x-station or through GarageBand's new amp modelling and into headphones (my Motion Sound 200s is at the jam space) but would prefer to be all analogue. I really don't want to have to buy and haul a dedicated guitar amp and would prefer to avoid unnecessary A/D-D/A nonsense.