OT - Thinking of going back in the military...

Syrnett

• Members

Well, I was USAF Active Duty for 4.5 years from 6-91 to 12-95.... and here I am seriously thinking of getting back in with the Air National Guard.

Since there are no officer slots open for the time being (since I have my BS) and since I was enlisted before, the guy told me I could come right in as an E6 (TSgt) instead of the E4 (SrA) I was when I got out.

Anyone else done this or considered doing it for any branch?

-Erik

• Members
Originally posted by BadRonald

Do what your heart and mind tells you to do.

thats generally my rule fo thumb for life. :)

my main concern would be the time off required and how my work would react to that aspect.

ive missed the sense of military pride and my own sense of civic duty from being an active participant.

even though i am a gulf war vet and "paid my dues", i still have a hard time with the "its somebody elses responsibility now to protect my freedom" mindset...

lots to think about.

-Erik

• Members

Originally posted by Syrnett

Well, I was USAF Active Duty for 4.5 years from 6-91 to 12-95.... and here I am seriously thinking of getting back in with the Air National Guard.

Since there are no officer slots open for the time being (since I have my BS) and since I was enlisted before, the guy told me I could come right in as an E6 (TSgt) instead of the E4 (SrA) I was when I got out.

-Erik

I would wait until an officer's slot opened up but that is just me.

Good luck!

• Members

-Erik

As you know, I'm still in the Air Force (17 years now). If you need any help or have any questions let me know. As you know already since you have served before, military members are like family and we take care of our own. If you need anything, etc. let me know.

• Members

appreciate the comments all :)

RR - I assume AD?