OT: Design/graphics guys...how the hell do I make a logo?

guitarded_1

• Members

Alright, so I'm a total newbie at this. I want to create a myspace page for a project I'm working on. I need to upload some sort of logo (band name) for the page...nothing fancy. It just needs to be a straight up font and I would suppose that I need to save it as a jpeg or gif so I can upload it. How do I do this quickly, easily and free? All help is appreciated.

• Members

First thing to do is browse for a free font: www.1001fonts.com

Once you choose the font you want, you'll need the size constraints of the logo.

Then, if you don't have image editing software this one is good and free: http://www.freeserifsoftware.com/software/PhotoPlus/default.asp

It's actually easier to do this kind of design in a vector program like Illustrator or PowerPoint, so send me an email if you want more help (sig).

• Members
Originally posted by hal9000

First thing to do is browse for a free font:
www.1001fonts.com

Once you choose the font you want, you'll need the size constraints of the logo.

Then, if you don't have image editing software this one is good and free:
http://www.freeserifsoftware.com/software/PhotoPlus/default.asp

It's actually easier to do this kind of design in a vector program like Illustrator or PowerPoint, so send me an email if you want more help (sig).

I'll start sorting through it. Thanks so much.

• Members

1001fonts is a good place to look for fonts

acidfonts.com has some good ones too

if you have bearshare or some P2P program, try to find adobe photoshopCS or Adobe Illustrator CS. if you really want versatility when creating the logo, and you dont have any experience...go with photoshop. i wouldnt suggest illustrator unless you knew how to ulitize the tools correctly.

• Members
Originally posted by CTBMETAL

i was just looking at the stuff in your sig. that some nice illustrator work there. great program.

check out some of my photoshop/illustrator stuff