Do you really need an amp?

james on bass

• Members

My guitarist just bought a Pod XT Live. He doesn't like his amp and wants to get a new amp and cab.

Since the XT Live will model pretty much anything, I told him to sell his Marshall and just buy a power amp since the Pod is essentially a preamp.

Does anyone in the guitar world on here do this?

• Members

Originally posted by mister kyo

i'd tell him to try the poweramp setup extensively before selling his marshall

He's going to borrow a QSC RMX850 tomorrow off a friend to try it out.

I have no experience with those kind of effects, but it looks to me like it will take awhile to figure out the POD completely to be able to use it as his preamp and effects unit. It should theretically be able to function as that though correct?

• Members
Originally posted by KirkHammett1

I've seen people just hook directly to the PA with one of those live. Definately not as rockin as having a half stack behind you though.
:(

A fair number of guys in the bass forum do that - hell, even Geddy got rid of his amps and just goes straight to the board. Then again, we (bass players) tend to find our tone and stay with it and don't really require effects throughout tunes.

In the bars we play, we generally use stage sound and a small PA for vocals and kick drum, so he will have a stack behind him still. I just don't see the need for him to invest in a new amp that will effectively be only supplying power for his POD.

• Members

Woah! Avatar doppleganger! :freak:

I've been thinking along those lines since I decided to get a Korg AX3000G to replace my pedalboard and control my Triamp's channel-switching. But realistically, I can't see any amount of digital processing superceding the sound of a real tube amp. We'll see.

• Members