Rush - Subdivisions. What sounds?

Mr Roboto

• Members

I'm trying to either find a good patch for this song for my M1, or edit my own. It sounds to me like the bass parts are some kind of saw wave sound, but the higher parts sound like they could be strings and saw together. Or, maybe I'm just not hearing it right. Anyone have any insight into this?

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Cool. I wish I knew what those sounds were. Maybe I should also mention that I'm totally new to keyboards/synths.
:)

Roboto - Moog and Oberheim are like - the Fender and Gibson of the synth world. They are classic "analog" synthesizers from the late '70s/early '80s that have a very classic, "fat", powerful sound. They are "analog" as opposed to the M1 which is purely "digital".

You will never have a true analog Moog or Oberheim sound from the M1, but you can get good "digital" approximations. Also, the M1 can be expanded with cards that have additional synth waveforms. Start from the sawtooth waveform and experiment... that's the key...

Hah, that figures.
:lol:

This might be a stupid question, but what is a rompler exactly? I assume "rompler" is ROM/sampler?

You got it... it's a synth that plays back sampled waveforms. The M1 would be one of the earliest forms of ROMplers.

• Members

Roboto - Moog and Oberheim are like - the Fender and Gibson of the synth world. They are classic "analog" synthesizers from the late '70s/early '80s that have a very classic, "fat", powerful sound. They are "analog" as opposed to the M1 which is purely "digital".

You will never have a true analog Moog or Oberheim sound from the M1, but you can get good "digital" approximations. Also, the M1 can be expanded with cards that have additional synth waveforms. Start from the sawtooth waveform and experiment... that's the key...

You got it... it's a synth that plays back sampled waveforms. The M1 would be one of the earliest forms of ROMplers.