Any decent cheap keyboard out there for occasional use?

iGirl

• Members

I'm a retired pro, but put all that away years ago - I've owned played and performed with almost all of the classic synths as well as piano, Clavinet, Fender Rhodes, Hammond etc. along the way.

The last synth I had I gave to my sons. K2000 and tons of rack stuff. I liked the K2000's Fatar action. 10+ years later I'm looking to add a desktop keyboard to do some composition. It's not serious so I don't want to spend a ton of money.

I actually bought (online) a M-Audio Keystudio 49i with internal piano sound., USB MIDI, and a USB Audio I/O. It seemed to be a clever thing to do, but the action is horrific. Super cheap plastic, with very high tension springs on it. It's going back.

I also decided I was running out of keys at 49 - so 63 is probably the way to go.

Now I'm starting to think that under $300 all I'm going to get new, is junk like the M-Audio thing. So now I'm looking at used as well. K2000s were plentiful and cheap some time back, but now they've vanished or I would just buy another one. I still have not seen as powerful of a synth engine to best it.

Any other ideas for playability on the cheap? Something that has a really decent pro action (not necessarily weighted). Internal sounds or controller features are not priority, but only a bonus, as is USB-MIDI....but a MIDI out is pretty important. I just can't handle the Radio Shack/M-Audio keyboards though. What are they selling to these kids???? lol

Thanks in advance for ideas!

• Members

OK first of all synths jump from 49 keys to 61 keys for the most part. Second for something 61 keys you will need to up your price for new. Third and what I think you are asking? Yes you can find more used synths for $300US+. For you desk that could lessen you choices. Do you have a computer?

• Members

I still see K2000's pretty regularly on Craigslist for around $250-$300. K2500's and K2600's have become a bit rarer, though.