Same price, would you chose a SH Vibrochamp or SF Bronco?

Pig Vomit

• Members

Personaly I like the vibro champ but their both probably the same price range. I've seen VC's go for a grand! Its kinda like tweed or blackface? Preference really. If you like tweed get the bronco, blackface (silver actually) get the champ

• Members

I just bought a silverface Vibro Champ last week for $300. While I was researching these amps online, I read about the Bronco and got the impression that it's the same amp. From what I read, Fender just changed the name to offer it as a set with a matching guitar. But I'm not an expert on this, and someone else might have more info. I love the Vibro Champ so far, but want to do some mods to get a bit more clean headroom out of it.

• Members

I just bought a silverface Vibro Champ last week for $300. While I was researching these amps online, I read about the Bronco and got the impression that it's the same amp. From what I read, Fender just changed the name to offer it as a set with a matching guitar. But I'm not an expert on this, and someone else might have more info. I love the Vibro Champ so far, but want to do some mods to get a bit more clean headroom out of it.

Correct. The SF Bronco is the same as a Silverface Vibrochamp that was rebadged and package with the Bronco student guitars.

1968_fender_bronco_amplifier_b1.jpg

As to clean headroom. What do you want? It's a practice amp, and its 6 watt rating it actually peak, it's more like 2-3 watts RMS. But...

Make sure you filter caps have been replaced, if they never have they'll need to be, and you'll get a little more headroom and tighter bass in return.

Drop an efficient ceramic speaker in there (the stock alnico was never a great speaker). The WeberVST