Wood Keyboard Stand/ Would you buy one?

oceancruze1

• Members

I am a musician but also a cabinetmaker. If I were to offer and make in my cabinet shop a wood keyboard stand made out of a nice veneer cherry, maple, oak or birch plywood and then stain or paint it would anyone buy it? Would there be a market for this? Possibly something you would leave in the home and have it as a piece of furniture rather than the stupid rack we put em on!

• Members

Would you happen to have some photos or maybe more detailed descriptions?

I have my keyboards set-up in my rehearsal area, and my DAW set up in a seperate room with it's own dedicated MIDI controller, but on occassion, I will need to take a keyboard from my rehearsal room and get it to my PC (for various reasons)

It's too much of a pain in the nuts to physically have to clean off my desk, make room, and then the physical aspect of carrying the keyboard over to the room I have my PC, so I just place whatever keyboard I need on the custom wooden stand and roll it over. It's primarily used for the Oasys, but I'll use it for whatever I need at the time.

I would suspect most people have everything in one room and have no need for the way I complicate my keyboard world, but this works for me at the moment.

Here is the custom made stand I use when I need to roll a keyboard from the A-Frame stand, and get it to the PC:

The nice thing is that it has lockable wheels. The guy I bought my Oasys from made it himself using about $400 worth of materials, but I use it for whatever keyboard I need to move to the PC:

IMG_0984.jpg

• Members

Yea they love using particle board cause it cheap. Now they have OSB which is a good product but no finish on it. Plywood is heavy and so shipping would kill ya and of course you gotta keep it cheap especially in this wonderful economy we inherited from Bush!

• Members