Running amp on an extension cord?

lewzer

• Members

I don't know if this is a dumb question or not but I've never done it before. I went to a drummers house without asking if he had outlets near his kit and guess what, he didn't. So he had to run an extension cord from one part of his basement to his kit. Is that safe?

• Members

i have two distinct schools of thought on this. both really depend on the quality of the cord. if it's a good thick cord, it shouldn't be a problem because it's just wire, and will probably be better than the wire in his house. if it's a flimsy cord, it's not a good idea, but it could still be better than the wire in his house.

• Members
I don't know if this is a dumb question or not but I've never done it before. I went to a drummers house without asking if he had outlets near his kit and guess what, he didn't. So he had to run an extension cord from one part of his basement to his kit. Is that safe?

Why wouldn't it be? You do it when you gig, don't you? You have to in most places. Guitar amps draw very little juice. Not sure why it should be a problem.

• Members

A lot of venues where I play have power issues. Many times the stage area is not close to good clean power. If you get a buzz you may be on the same circuit with a neon light, or an Ice Maker. Good quality cables matter all the way around from instrument, Speaker, and even power. I don't skimp on the gear I buy, and after years of beating my head against the wall I now only buy quality cables, and power cords.

• Members

Never run a tube amp on an extension cord. Such a long run of thin gauge wire carrying a high current could overheat and thereby cause a 'current bottleneck', which could cause the filament within the power tubes to combust. Flaming pieces of glass will be shot all across the room, possibly getting tangled up in nearby drapery or acoustic foam. Tube amps on extension cords are the third most cause of recording studio fires since the 1890's.