really stupid question: how do you record an mp3?

• Members

I'm old... but I'm NEW at performing/recording, etc. I want to enter a songwriting contest, and I need to submit the song by CD or uploading online. In the old days, I would record on my cassette tape recorder. Now I want to be able to record a file to upload. And I'm completely ignorant. Do I just need a microphone? What type of software? What's the cheapest way I can do this?

Sorry for the stupid question.... but I know you guys can help me. :)

• Members

Look up "Audacity" It's a freeware recording tool, infinite multitracking, all that jazz.

The only problem is that it can't save sound as MP3s by default, for licensing issues or something, so follow the instructions on this page:

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/help/faq?s=install&item=lame-mp3

After you're through installing the thing.

:thu::thu::thu::thu::thu::thu:

• Members

Ok... I know we can, too.

First, what do you have, tape-wise? You have a cassette recorder. Is it, like, a boombox type or, perhaps, a cassette multitracker (like the old Portastudios) or perhaps a component style deck with a mic input that you plug into?

Next, what kind of computer do you have? Is it a laptop, a desktop? Window or Mac?

As long as your cassette deck has either a LINE OUT or a headphone output and your computer has a LINE IN you're pretty good to go.

This same issue came up in Craig's forum just the other day: http://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1680557

You can read that thread but the solution to your situation is likely to be this:

AV01.JPG

... going between your cassette output (if its a headphone out you just need a slightly different $5 radio shack cable with an 1/8 inch TRS ["stereo"] plug on either end instead of RCAs on one and the 1/8 inch on the other.]

And then into (hopefully) something like this (LINE IN) on the back of your computer:

soundcard2.jpg