Writing orchestral style music... where to start?

pariah223

• Members

Hello,

I have been writing music for many years now. mainly 5 piece stuff including 2 guitars, a bass, drums and vocals. And i have recently wanted to get into more orchestral style music writing... Hollywood style to be exact.. I have always been known to have a whole visual story to go along with my songs, and i think orchestra style music is the best place to express that. Problem is, i dont know much about flutes, or strings, or any of that to know where to start. I figure ill start by using midi to get my ideas down, but just having a midi keyboard, and actually knowing the range and dynamics these instruments can offer is 2 different things. Are there any good resources for getting started? books or websites or even videos? Thanks

• Members

A search turned up this pdf: http://www.roedyblack.com/PGS_Products_Charts/Musical_Instruments_Poster.htm. Seems like it would be helpful and there's a free version. I haven't done any work like this so there might be better resources, but it's a start. Lots of music theory texts have similar charts along with lots of other useful information as far as traditional Western music goes. I used Tonal Harmony by Kostka & Payne.

Jeremy

• Members

Most importantly, have a program for classical composition. Finale or Sibellius are good, the latter being what I use. I also agree with yermej, research some theory. The kostka book is actually what my theory classes use, and while I don't read it because I'm too lazy, it's probably a good book if we're supposed to use it =P

I also do suggest listening to classical pieces, especially film scores without the visual. Try to visualize what's going on by the music alone, see how certain impressions are made. If you can get your hands on a score or two, do so. Analyze it to death. Orchestral music is extremely complex.

• Members