Attempt at on old tymey song

perry78

• Members

My friend let me borrow some old music that he loves so I wrote, performed and produced this love song for him. What do you guys think? Excuse the occasional intonational blemish and lack edits or mixing.

I thought you guys would appreciate this here.

• Members

I'm not an expert on songs like this but omg it sounds authentic. It's almost Christmas in my mind. If someone played to me without the introduction you gave I would have guessed it was an original oldie-goldie. Nice work!

There are some issues with the string harmony and sound and with one of the voices in the choir being off-key, but it is minor issues. I like the mood and the melody, and it's been a long time since I heard a brand new track of this kind.

• Members

My friend let me borrow some old music that he loves so I wrote, performed and produced
love song for him. What do you guys think? Excuse the occasional intonational blemish and lack edits or mixing.

I thought you guys would appreciate this here.

I thought it was f'kin fantastic!

to me music is all about setting a mood and telling a story or transporting one to another place.

This song very much had me in about 1965 in the back seat of my Parents 1959 Borg Worg listening to the am radio on the way back from Philomath Oregon heading home to Salem.. *L* True enough!

Wonderful!

• Members

I think you've almost got it... I think a little mix massaging would go a long way to getting you there.

I'd bring the vocals a little more forward early on and maybe de-emphasize the reverb a little (it has a slightly digital sort of feel that doesn't fit the old timey approach -- or maybe just a different 'verb. Maybe try a "spring" emulation from a convolution reverb [a dicey call, they don't sound like springs often but they do sound interesting]).

The somewhat buried guitar is about right.