I need some new chord and scales ideas please...

Joeytpg

• Members

.....who in here plays blues? or Pop/blues? could someone gimme some nice blues scales and blues based chords that i can use to write some tunes?

I'm completely new to Blues, or to COOL ASS GUITAR for that matter, even tho i've been playing guitar for close to 10 years, I used to play mostly Metal, and Alternative/punk. And while I developed GREAT speed in my right hand and my powerchording is pretty good, I honestly have been opening up to a BETTER guitar playing. Listening to John Mayer (i love this guy's music, i believe he is the next big thing in music,), listening to Stevie Ray V., B.B. King, etc....

This has really changed the way I look at music and specially guitar playing, I'm writing my first CD (I'm a singer songwriter) and what's coming out of me is pop/rock/blusy songs (the singing melody is very pop, but with a lot of rockish/blues).

So, i'm learning new chords, and soloing (i was a rythm player mostly before) so, what are good chords and scales to get that rockish/blues melodies going?.

• Members

My feelings about this are mixed.

I think the best blues comes from a pretty non-intellectual place. That said, it's clear that some of the more interesting, innovative blues players have had a tremendous amount of knowledge (on some level)... guys like Jimi Hendrix (who was more than a blues player, of course, but still a blues player) brought a lot of knowledge from a lot of areas of guitar to their playing.

The school-taught players tend to not do much for me. Guys like Eric Johnson seem are a colossal yawn to me. Others don't do a lot for me, either. I've heard some great technicians from places like Berklee and GIT -- but the percentage of great players from the schools seems to remain about like you find in the general guitarist population.