A Song For Our Soldiers

bobc

• Members

I started writing this song when I was in the ARMY (1983-1989), and finished writing it a couple of years after I got out. With the holiday season coming up, I thought it would be nice to post it on my page, and dedicate it to our soldiers around the world.

A soldier is someone who puts their life on the line for other people without question or hesitation, and I would like to honor them with this song.

It's titled... I Am A Soldier.

You can listen to it on MySpace...Here (and post a comment if you like).

Or you can listen to it... Here

Peace

• Members

Hi, Bob!

Haven't seen you around before. Welcome to the Songwriting Forum!

This is obviously a heartfelt little tune. It wears its heart on its sleeve and though you had me going for just a second with your inclusion of the "be all I can be" tag (I thought you were headed off into irony-land for a sec) it seems quite straightforward and plainspoken. That's a good way of communicating, of course, but sometimes it doesn't produce the most nuanced or artful lyrics. Still, I'm thinking that communicating is precisely what you had in mind here.

One minor point... I couldn't figure out why the last line was there. It almost seemed like it was included because it fit, rhyme-wise, maybe. But the "hey, look at me" angle seemed to contrast in a distracting way with the overall tone of humility and self-subsumation to duty.

Anyway, overall, a nice, heartfelt song about duty and a sense of personal responsibility.

:)

• Members

Thank you for your comments. I just do this for a hobby, and I don't know much about the proper way to do things, but I do enjoy doing it.