Playing seventh chords on keyboards

Mr Songwriter

• Members

OK, I was going to post this in the keyboard forum but it seems to be more oriented towards gear discussions and the like. I'm primarily a guitarist but I like to mess about with keyboards (electronic ones most of the time) and quite a lot of the songs that I like make use of seventh chords; I find it quite easy to make them sound 'right' on the guitar, but whenever I play the same song on a keyboard (with the right hand playing the melody and the left doing the chords) I never seem to be able to find inversions of the seventh chord that sound as good as they do on the guitar.

Any thoughts/pointers?

• Members

You may be subconsciously adjusting your playing on the guitar to ease the essential 'out of tuneness' of a major seventh when it's played on an equal temperament instrument.

An equal temperament major seventh interval is almost 12 cents sharp from the pure, mathematically correct (justly intoned) interval.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equal_temperament#Comparison_to_just_intonation

The compromises implicit in the equal temperament system are often very poorly understood by even many trained musicians. While many keyboardists simply accept 12TET (12 tone equal temp) as an a priori (to the extent that they often claim that 12TET intervals do sound in tune when there are clear beta frequencies!), guitarists faced with continually tuning their instruments tend to try to trust their ears -- and so are continually vexed when they try to use techniques like relative tuning or harmonic overtones.

http://www.doolinguitars.com/intonation/intonation1.html

• Members