Reinventing the wheel

kwakatak

• Members

Have you ever had a good idea that seemed to stick with you only to realize that it's something you heard before? If so, have you had to throw it away or do you alter in a way that makes it more your own? Even still, do you cite the inspiration and take the proper measures to make sure that there's no potential for plagiarism?

I'm still somewhat new to writing my own music but find that I'm still an avid consumer so often times I'll be humming a tune only to realize that it's something I've heard previously. It's kind of frustrating but I'm not looking to market my stuff - at least not until I feel more confident in my musical abilities.

• Members

Well, sir, you could just el kabong your guitar in frustration and take up the recorder. Gotta be new territory there waiting to explore.

The one good thing about being a consumer is you readily recognize something and can re-invent it or toss it if it can't be used. I'd say use it as best as you can. I doubt there's anything that's truly original, anyway. I hear stuff and can relate it to previously released music. Coldplay's Clocks is soooo like Dylan's Lay Lady Lay in structure and key. That's just one, I know, but if you make a study of that way of listening you'll be surprised what has been borrowed. If your conscience bothers you about borrowing and re-working riffs then you're going to have to be keenly aware of published music to avoid such conflicts. That's nuts. I'd just write. If you're constantly worried about that you'll never do anything and music becomes simply that - a worrisome task where you have zero confidence in your originality.