How to run amp's distortion through effects?

shadowshocker

• Members

I'm pretty new to amp distortion, before I've just gotten my tone from effects pedals. But I'm just trying to plan ahead of what kind of effects I want, and now I'm thinking I'd like to get my distortion from the amp itself. Assuming the amp doesn't have a effects loop out/in (which I'd prefer not to use anyway if there was one), how do I run the amp distortion to all my effects that I want to come after? For example, reverb and delay. I wouldn't mind getting a second amp or something, I just don't know exactly how I'd set it up. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

• Members

Why would you avoid an effects loop? It's the only real option -- preamp>effect loop>poweramp.

Using a second amp would be excessive, and you'd still pull the first amp's signal right after the preamp exactly where an effects loop is (usually using an Effects Loop Out).

If you want to use effects on power amp output, then you'll have to record the amp and apply your effects to the recording, like they would do in a real studio.

• Members

I guess I'm sorta just judging the effects loop based on my old amp. I had a Peavey Valveking 112, and everytime I used the fx loop I got a horrible sound and it was very muddy sounding. I guess it was just the amp though, I guess with a better amp I'd have no problems with the fx loop then.

• Members

The effects loop on your old amp was probably broken if thats the case. Or you're doing something wrong.

Use the fx-loop. there is no substitute. (well, you can re-amp with another amp, but that's stupid when you have a fx-loop present)

• Members

I guess I'm sorta just judging the effects loop based on my old amp. I had a Peavey Valveking 112, and everytime I used the fx loop I got a horrible sound and it was very muddy sounding. I guess it was just the amp though, I guess with a better amp I'd have no problems with the fx loop then.