Help? Where to start...

grohl735

• Members

HI

I really like the forum's so far and the reviews are great!

Well basically i am a guitarist in a band we have done some covers so far such as:

The foo fighters

The Pixies

Metallica

But it would be really great to write some of our own material. but i really don't know where to start. I can normally create some quite good riffs but it's hard to think of vocals. Do you have any tips?

Thanks

• Members

Start keeping a journal and describe to yourself everything you see and read and hear from day to day...ie:..I walked up to the lunch counter,and saw the waitress wearing a short skirt and a pony tail that swished from side to side while she wiped down the counter. An old man wearing a dirty shirt smoking a non filter and having his morning coffee flirted with the her as she passed by. I could see she liked to tease and gave him a little playful nod and smirk. The old diner's floor was worn in a path leading to the red clored stools where two seats were open for me to chose from. The smell of bacon floated through the joint like a heart attack on an episode of ER. I sat and down and I touched the sticky counter top where she had just finished cleaning. The old smoker asked me to pass the cream and he coughed when I slid it over to him.

Anyway you get the idea...go into a bookstore and do the same thing or any coffee shop or place of business...remember everything you see...observe all the small details...was it dark or light...was there a smell?...were there many people...what did they look like?...did the scene remind you of a place you've been before?...Remember as much as you can and write a short essay...maybe two three pages...try to write it out in sequence from beginning to end...you now should have the basic story in essay form...