Crate Blue Voodoo BV120H/Basic tube amp question

paulsitive

• Members

Whats up dudes. Forgive my stupidity but I am new to tube amps and am in need of some answers.

I just purchased a Crate Blue voodoo bv120h off craigslist for insanely cheap. first i'm trying to figure out if this amp is a self-biasing kinda thing. A couple people plus the guy I bought it from told me it IS, but I mailed Crates tech support and they tell me it's not. So what's the deal?

Also, with the power tubes...do I need to use all the exact same kind of tubes (brand plus tube type). The guy included 3 6l6C groove tubes and i have one 6l6GC groove tube. any info would be awesome, thanks!

• Members

Whats up dudes. Forgive my stupidity but I am new to tube amps and am in need of some answers.

I just purchased a Crate Blue voodoo bv120h off craigslist for insanely cheap. first i'm trying to figure out if this amp is a self-biasing kinda thing. A couple people plus the guy I bought it from told me it IS, but I mailed Crates tech support and they tell me it's not. So what's the deal?

Also, with the power tubes...do I need to use all the exact same kind of tubes (brand plus tube type). The guy included 3 6l6C groove tubes and i have one 6l6GC groove tube. any info would be awesome, thanks!

:eek:

He gaave you 3 power t00bz? :lol::lol: you probably want to go to www.dougstubes.com and get 4 matched toobz :thu:

• Members

Yeah, mine has the older blue tolex also. Havent played it in a while, but I had mine biased when I got new tubes put in. That is what Crate customer service told me to do too. I would suggest getting it biased. I would also suggest throwing an eq in the loop to get the brittleness out of the clean channel. (very harsh and trebbly)

• Members

I have one. It is not self-biasing. You have to open it up and find the bias pot. My Blue Voodoo runs at about 460 volts on the plates. Be careful biasing or you'll get killed.