How to keep songs from losing their spirit when recording

hogger

• Members

I'll first formally introduce myself to this forum -- Hello, I'm Nick. I've been hanging out in the keys forum for a few months, trying to share my 25 years of midi knowledge, and getting help as I try to get caught up on what's changed in the last 15 years or so in recording.

Now for what's prompted me to add the songwriting forum to my daily bookmarks; I'm in need unbiased advice regarding my songwriting.

I write most of my songs on nylon guitar, and they feel very good to me when it's just voice and guitar. Then I feel obligated to take them to the next step -- recording them. I fear that from that point on, they just get more and more bland, commercial sounding, and lose their spirit.

I'm a decent keys player, drum programmer, guitarist, sax, etc... Jack of all trades, master of none except MAYBE keys. When I get down to recording my songs, I feel obligated to put keys on them, and drums, and effects. And the next thing you know, it's a completely different song, and it sounds like it's been lobotomized to me.

I'm hoping that some of you songwriting pros here can listen to a couple of my tunes and critique the song structure, instrumentation, and uniqueness.

"Only Memories" is my most recent song, and the one I'd like critiqued the most. I wrote and recorded it this weekend, and tried to keep my issues listed above in mind. Nevertheless, in the end it too sounds bland compared to the feeling I get with just guitar+vocal. PLEASE critique any of the other four as well though, if you have the patience and time. Maybe you'll detect a common songwriting problem that exists amongst all my songs.

• Members

I notice that lyrics are usually posted alongside the songs in the critique requests, so here are the lyrics to "Only Memories". I'm calling the "Fourty five and going on eighteen" part the chorus, for whatever that's worth.

------------------------------------