I've been a musician for over 25 years and have never written the first song. is it n

RKO

• Members

I can re-arrange tunes, combine them, play all kinds of original instrumental stuff, but I don't think I have a song in me. How do you guys start? Does a tune pop into your head or do you start with a riff or a progression? How do you do it?

• Members

Go outside and listen. Hear it? It might be a bird, or a car driving by, or the wind blowing or your neighbor driving away on your lawnmower. Whatever it is, think about it.

Now go inside and play it on your guitar. Eventually, the song's structure and personality will start to come out. Don't fight it, since you have some music background you will imediatly start thinking "thats not right!" or "Wouldnt it sound cool if I did this?"

Ignore those thoughts. Just let it flow.

The hardest note is the first one. Once you get that, its simple.

• Members

Go outside and listen. Hear it? It might be a bird, or a car driving by, or the wind blowing or your neighbor driving away on your lawnmower. Whatever it is, think about it.

Now go inside and play it on your guitar. Eventually, the song's structure and personality will start to come out. Don't fight it, since you have some music background you will imediatly start thinking "thats not right!" or "Wouldnt it sound cool if I did this?"

Ignore those thoughts. Just let it flow.

The hardest note is the first one. Once you get that, its simple.

I hear i everyday, but I can't translate it. I think you writers have a mojo that I just don't have...and I'm old, I've been playing for YEARS...

• Members

I can re-arrange tunes, combine them, play all kinds of original instrumental stuff, but I don't think I have a song in me. How do you guys start? Does a tune pop into your head or do you start with a riff or a progression? How do you do it?