Why do the majority of new songs SUCK these days?

grace_slick

• Replies 135
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

This topic is explored quite often in this forum, and I have been keeping away from it recently, until you started bashing the 90's which is when I started playing guitar and started really getting into music (born in '84). I'm not going to defend everything that came out of the decade but I will point out that it most certainly has to do with what you grew up listening to, and to paint a decade as all crap is a very dangerous thing to do.

And don't forget....a LOT of terrible music came out of the 70's and 80's also, (disco, new wave, and hair metal just to name a few)

And while I can go on and on about all the terrible songwriters and horrible popular music from the 70's and 80's, I can also name loads of popular musicians from the 90's and 00's that will go down in history as being prolific writers (Nirvana, Tool, Timbaland, John Mayer, again just to name a few). Whether or not YOU like the music is a different topic completely, but my point is that there are plenty of great songwriters out there making music now, you just might need to open your mind a bit to see it......

.....it all comes down to personal taste really.

• Members

Oh, OAFCORE. You have found me. My dirty laundry of Katy Perry. LOL. I don't care for her songs. I just find her vaguely interesting in terms of her personality and find her fairly attractive. In looks alone, she reminds me of a modern young Grace Slick. lol

I do see your point. I should clarify again that the 90s for me represent MY OWN distaste in music at its highest point. I hate rap, techno, dance, grunge...I associate all of those things with the 90s.

But yes, everyone has their own tastes and it's all valid.

Edit - I'm also a total Twitter whore. I don't care for Katy Perry. I don't care for...half the people on there! I think I've got Portia De Rossi on there for god's sake! lol

• Members