Ripcord......song structure issue

• Members

This is not a new tune. I started playing it around three divorces ago, which puts it back around 1985.

I have been banging away at this one for all these years with pretty much the same lyrics.......but this is the first time I have written them down and tracked the tune.

It is a very straightforward song.....four verses with an instrumental in the middle. Even at close to 4:00 it comes and goes pretty quickly.

The thing is....I tracked this one for fun, but I kind of like it. I know I need to redo the acoustic guit (a few clicks and pops) so I'm wondering if I should expand the structure in the proccess.

Oh.....and then there would be the issue of the drums......:facepalm:

It goes something like this:

Ripcord

You said no but I wasn't listening

Guess I musta thought you were talking to your dog

But when you asked me to go with those eyes all glistening

It was time to reach for the ripcord

You looked at me like I was meat on the table

Yeah, you were gonna throw me to the dogs

I headed for the window just as soon as I was able

I crashed right through and reached for the ripcord

instrumental

I told you the reason but you heard the excuse

Guess you musta thought I was talking to your dog

I tried hard to please you...it was just no use

It was time to reach for the ripcord

Well I've been working all day and trying all night

But it looks to me like I'll be sleeping with the dogs

Looking at your face and deep in your eyes...I know you're right

And I gotta reack for the ripcord

• Moderators

seems good. nice tune! :)

hmm.. if i have any suggestions..

i think the middle instrumental is a tad bit long

and maybe you can add in the word 'ripcord' a few times during the ending instrumental. and maybe just sing the word 'ripcord' an extra time after the 2nd verse. it might make the title more effective, i think.

• Members

This sounds like something Phish would have some real fun with.