Looking for "Formulas" in Chord Progressions

King Conga

• Members

OK! I'm a drummer that went to a music school that thought there was no life after Bach and Beethoven, so I really didn't get much out of music theory in the way of figuring out how to construct tasteful, modern chord progressions. I've "studied" and listened to pretty much all the modern pop, and jazz legends that wrote 90% of the guidelines we use today, and I can tell a maj7 -> min7 progression, and maybe a little more, but that's about it. And, YES! I've heard all the jokes from guitarists, etc about drummers don't sing, or write music...blah, blah, blah:blah:

What I'm trying to ascertain is any kind of criteria, or "formulas" that songwriters use to construct chord progressions. For instance, I have a keyboard player friend that has a magical ear, even though, he's not into composition, and he always starts with listening to a pre-existing bass line to figure out the chords. But what if I'm starting from scratch?

Any Help is Appreciated (but PLEEEZE!! NO Smart@$$ jokes),

KC

• Members

:D

They stretch a point (a little past breaking) but they've got a point... most pop music doesn't fall very far at all from the big tree.

Honestly, you may not have any real interest in playing a little bit of keyboards or guitar (or both) but getting a casual familiarity with blocking out chords on guitar or keys would probably pull you a lot farther along that road.

With regard to formulas, I've been finding that the single biggest aid in that regard has been basic chord analysis. Lately I've been putting everything into Nashville notation.