How to create electronic music?

jrcorp

• Members

I'm a guitarist who dabbles in bass and keys, and I also like playing around with Fruity Loops - just happens to be what I'm familiar with. I love most if not all genres of music, including electronic stuff. I know that's a very vague way of putting it... I've made a lot of amateurish beats and simple techno-type songs using FL either alone or with a friend. I've used VST's, drum samples, and cut up song samples to put together beats or tunes. Recording instruments and incorporating them has been a goal, but I haven't been able to get it down right.

I would love to make some interesting electronic music in maybe a drum and bass or IDM style. From listening to some stuff I enjoy, it seems like for some artists there is a simple mix of either VST's, instruments, or samples with a much more complicated beat. I'm not concerned about much other than the drum aspect. Coming up with a tune shouldn't be too hard, but those beats get ridiculous, especally in weird time signatures.

Do you have any suggestions on how to get started, what software to try, etc.? I'm thinking of aspiring to artists like Aphex Twin, Venetian Snares, Squarepusher, or Amon Tobin. A much more simple start would be cool.

Also, is there a section of the forum for electronic stuff or beats? Wasn't sure where to ask this.

• Members

FLStudio probably has the most users working in the style you describe. I don't think there is a lot of traffic in the electronic music forums here.

After you register your copy of FLStudio, try the Image-Line forums - http://forum.image-line.com/

For electronic music and free softsynths the KVR forums are the most helpful - http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/

• Members