Finally, a new song, and it needs some work--Oh Me, Oh My

Chicken Monkey

• Members

This is my first attempt at using the Zoom H4n I picked up. I'm still learning the mic, so there is some overdrive in here. Hopefully, this rough demo is still listenable.

You can find it here.

This is my first time using box.net--hopefully I did it right.

The lyrics:

Oh Me, Oh My

I was well known as a man of many words

My eloquence was often on display

I never missed a chance to be heard

I never wondered what to say

But since I met you it's been an endeavor

I struggle just to string two words together

Now ever since the day you caught my eye,

All I can say is, Oh me, oh my

Ch:

Oh me oh my

Oh me oh my

You got me so tongue tied,

Oh me oh my

Now any time I try to talk to you

I never seem to find the phrase

I'm marble-mouthed, I'm muttering, I'm mute

My sentences come out sideways

It used to be I was as smooth as butter

But when I'm with you, now I just stutter

Ask me any question, I'll reply

Oh me, oh, oh my, oh me oh my

Chorus

Bridge:

Oh me oh my

That's all that's left

Of a vocabulary that was legendary in it's heft

Instrumental/Scat

Chorus

I've got a number of issues with it as it stands, but rather than ask some leading questions, I'll just ask your feelings on the song, the lyric, the melody, and the idea. Hopefully, the presentation isn't too primitive to allow listening; I'm using a new device, and I'm overeager to get some new content out there--my recording computer has been out of service for the past several months.

• Members

It's good.

I'd recommend changing a couple of lines.

I can't find the proper phrase

I'm not crazy about rhyming you with mute. Never mind that it's kind of sloppy writing (in my opinion), but when you set up the rhyme with an open oo sound, the ear tends not to hear the "t" in "mute," so it comes out sounding like "I'm muttering, I'm you..." which is nonsensical.