MRI Blues - worth pursuing?

Monkey Uncle

• Members

Several weeks ago I had to have an MRI to investigate a chronic shoulder/neck issue. The experience gave me the idea for this comedy song. I've used humor in songs before in the service of some larger meaning, but this is my first attempt at writing a straight-up, one-dimensional comedy song. I'm not sure the song is funny enough to stand on that one dimension. It's got a long way to go; should I bother continuing? Here is what I have so far:

MRI Blues

V1

I had an ache that would not go away

My doctor said, "Let's not delay

I think your spinal cord might be askew

We'll ask insurance if they'll pay

And if they say that it's o.k.

We'll take a long, hard look inside of you"

V2

So they stuffed me in this little tube

Took pictures of me in the nude

Said, "Just hold still, w'ell be done in a little while

Got to find out just what's wrong with you

So you won't be feeling sick and blue

No, it ain't that kind of picture, no need to smile"

C1

I've got those MRI blues

Saying, "Please hold still, now, don't you move"

MRI blues

Taking pictures of me in the nude

MRI blues

If I freak out now, it would be rude

This little tube is giving me the blues

V3

I guess I should have paid attention

My surgeries I should have mentioned

When they asked about my medical history

Imagine all my apprehension

Discomfort reaching new dimensions

My shoulder pin started moving inside of me! Owww!

C2

I've got those MRI blues

MRI blues

All the junk in me is on the move

MRI blues

If I freak out now, would it be rude?