Would a new Peavey XXX 112 combo for $450.00 be a good buy?

67mike

• Members

Hi Guys:

I have ZERO experience with the newer generation Peavey stuff.

A local shop has a Peavey XXX 112 Combo that I can pick up for $450.00 NEW. (I am in Canada and the normal price is $890.00)

I play occasionally, and most stuff is classic hard rock.....No jazz, no deathmetal.

I want an amp that will give me some great distorted and also some good clean sounds.

What do you think?????

• Members

I think $450 is a bit much. I sold one of these earlier this year for around $400 though. They are actually really good little amps, and I agree that they sound best with the JJ ecc83s, which is a tube I don't usually like. It really works well in this amp though, cuts the fuzz right out.

Really, the best tone I found with the amp was with a lower output PAF style pickup, no boost, the JJ tubes and a Warehouse V30. The amp has actually got a very nice clean channel as well. Depending on what you are looking for, it could be a good amp for you, or it may not. Either way I would personally try to pay $400 or less for it.

• Members

This price of $450 whether it's worth is all depends on if we're talking about the 60 watt 1x12 model,(true 3 channel) the 40 watt 1x12 model(2 1/2 channel, no effects) or the 40 watt EFX 1x12 model.(2 1/2 channel with built-in effects) If it's the 60 watter or the EFX 40 watter versions I'd say yea, if not like Aibric has stated, I'd ask if they will go $400.

Oh yea, I'd second Mustaine-Who's advice as far as retubing the amp, JJ's will clear the amp up and give it some more balls nicely. Some KT77s will give the power amp a nice kick in the ass and a ECC832/12DW7 in V2 is just what the doctor ordered for the incredible amount of gain this amp has on tap.(i.e. too damn much!)

• Members

Yeah I was talking about the 40-watt EFX, which is what I have owned. It and the 40 watt non-fx sound different than the other XXX models.