Piano Lessons!

Lee Knight

• Moderators

I've been dreaming of taking piano lessons for years. As in, 40 years. My keyboard skills are restricted to helping me understand how theory works for writing songs, and my attempts at either midi controller entry or faux Elton folk pop excursions.

If I could only play piano like a play bass. Second nature. I'm doing. And I would love input form Justin/Bee3 or anyone else who has taken lessons. Actually any kind of music lessons.

Here's my exchange with the teacher.

Hi Jerry,

I

• Members

I am most definitely the wrong guy to ask... I'm mostly self-taught on piano. My experience with teachers:

Mrs. Rose: A decrepid old woman who came to my house to give lessons for $3/each. I was 10. I have reason to believe she could neither see nor hear effectively. She dropped me because I refused to practice.

Sister Mary: A decrepid old nun who used to keep me after school to give me lessons when I was 13. I have reason to believe she had no soul... literally. I think I quit because I rather would have been skateboarding.

Jim: Temple University music student. Cool guy... came to my house. Really believed in me. He was grooming me for an audition to get into Temple's music program. I basically freaked and quit because I didn't believe I could hack it... and I had developed a ton of bad habits on the keys that I didn't think I could ever overcome.

So, when you add it up, I've had about 1 year's worth of lessons... and I'm still a complete hack with minimal understanding of music theory.

• Moderators

:) ^^^ Awesome!!!

I have dreams of actually being a player. To play something other than the bass proficiently would be such a help to my songwriting and demos. BTW, a nun with no soul?!?!?! 9 years of Catholic school for me and that was a common occurrence.

• Members