Tips on writing in certain genres for inexperienced musician/singer?

BumbleBb

• Members

I'm pretty new to music, started learning guitar a couple years ago as an older adult, have had a few sporadic lessons, and have no singing or music experience or instruction prior to that.

Do you have any tips for me on how to write in certain styles? I've written songs of various types but I still struggle at times with coming up with a genre that I predesignate. Sometimes I can do it, depending on the genre also, but other times I can't identify the characteristics of the genre that make it sound as it does, and so can't capture those traits in my own writing either.

Are there easily identifiable or easy to describe traits for certain genres that you could give me tips on? For example genres like country (say in the style of Waylon Jennings etc.), rock (preferably older rock like 79s 80s etc), or something jazzy/bluesy/swingy like Bessie Smith or the song The Way You Look Tonight? What makes each style identifiable as that style? What elements make say a Waylon Jennings song or other country have the sound that it does, and make it sound country?

It's weird but I've listened to so much country for so many years, yet it's one style (at least the type of country that I listen to) that I can't seem to write myself. You'd think that genre would be very ingrained in me, but ....

Often though I do have luck by listening to a lot of a certain style in a short time period, or by trying to just hear the style in my head, but other times I just don't succeed with those techniques. Any tips? I hope my question is clear, it was kind of hard for me to articulate what I want to say.

• Members

Well, I'm pretty green myself when it comes to music composition (which I think is the essence of your question), but I can pass along the few simple observations I have collected during my brief experience.